Where your Customer Data is stored

Location of Customer Data

Microsoft Azure, Office 365 and Power BI operated by 21Vianet are built on the premise that for you to control your Customer Data in the cloud, you require visibility into that data. You must also know, through clearly stated and readily available policies and procedures, how we help secure your Customer Data, who can access it and under what circumstances. And you can review the third-party audits and certifications.

Datacenters

21Vianet operates Azure, Office 365 and Power BI services in datacenters located exclusively in mainland China. The services are physically and logically entirely isolated from Microsoft Cloud services in other regions of the world. With adoption of the same Azure, Office 365 and Power BI technology that powers Microsoft’s global Azure, Office 365 and Power BI services, the services in China provides comparable service level to customers. Customer Data, applications processing the Customer Data and datacenters hosting Azure, Office 365 and Power BI are all located in mainland China. Datacenters in east China and north China, with the distance apart over 1000 km, maintain multiple copies of Customer Data for redundancy, in order to support business continuity of these Azure, Office 365 and Power BI services.

In terms of network connection, Microsoft Azure, Office 365 and Power BI operated by 21Vianet are connected to provincial level core network nodes of various mainstream carriers (China Telecom, China Unicom, China Mobile) by BGP and offer high-speed and stable network experience for users. Datacenters in east China and north China adopt the same address broadcast and BGP routing strategy. Users can use a nearby service in one of these two datacenters to achieve the best network performance experience.

Both datacenters are located in Chinese telecom carriers’ top level datacenters and adopt N+1 or 2N uninterrupted power supply protection for energy saving. Additionally, a high power diesel generator provides back-up power supply, guaranteed by onsite diesel storage and diesel supply of a nearby gas station. The computer rooms in the datacenters are equipped with elevated floor and closed cold aisle, which form a highly efficient cooling cycle with back-end refrigeration system, refrigerator, cooling tower and ice pool, providing a stable and suitable environment for servers operating in the computer room. The computer room is also equipped with central ventilation system which could reduce the PUE in the computer room to the largest extent when the weather conditions are suitable.

Azure

Azure customers may specify the region(s) of the datacenters in which Customer Data will be stored.

AZURE REGIONS

China (East)
China (North)

21Vianet may transfer Customer Data between regions for data redundancy or other purposes. For example, Azure replicates Storage content between two regions within China for enhanced data durability in case of a major datacenter disaster.

Office 365

Office 365 customers have their Customer Data stored and replicated in datacenters located in mainland China.

21Vianet will store Customer Data, such as Exchange Online mailbox content, in both datacenters in case of a major datacenter incident.

Our suppliers (including Microsoft, which provides the Azure, Office 365 and Power BI technology on which our services run) do not have logical or physical access to Customer Data. In limited circumstances, we may authorize a supplier to access systems containing Customer Data when necessary to help troubleshoot a customer support incident or address technical issues. We will grant such access only for the duration necessary to resolve the issue. We carefully monitor the access given and terminate the access when the issue is resolved.

We do not control or limit the geographic locations from which customers or their end users may access Customer Data.

客户数据的位置

客户数据的位置


由世纪互联运营的 Microsoft Azure、Office 365 和 Power BI 构建的前提是:您可以完全控制自己在云中的客户数据,并要求对数据的可见性。您还可以了解到,我们是如何通过明确陈述和随时可用的政策和流程帮助保护您的客户数据安全,以及何人在何种情况下可以访问。您可以查阅第三方审计和认证。

世纪互联仅在位于中国大陆的数据中心运营 Azure、Office 365 和 Power BI 服务,与全球其他地区由微软运营的服务在物理上和逻辑上完全独立,采用微软服务于全球的技术,为客户提供全球一致的服务质量保障。所有客户数据、处理这些数据的应用程序,以及承载 Azure、Office 365 和 Power BI 服务的数据中心,全部位于中国境内。位于中国东部和中国北部的两座数据中心距离相隔 1000 公里以上,提供冗余的异地复制,为 Azure、Office 365 和 Power BI 服务提供业务连续性支持。

在网络接入方面,由世纪互联运营的 Microsoft Azure、Office 365 和 Power BI 的数据中心通过 BGP 方式直接连接多家主流运营商( 中国电信、中国联通、中国移动 )的省级核心网络节点,可为用户提供高速稳定的网络访问体验。位于中国东部和北部的两个数据中心采用相同的地址广播和 BGP 路由策略,用户可以就近访问位于上述两个数据中心的服务,达到最佳网络性能体验。

两个数据中心均位于国内电信运营商的顶级数据中心,在绿色节能的基础上,采用 N+1 或者 2N 路不间断电源保护。此外还有大功率柴油发电机为数据中心提供后备电力,配有现场柴油存储和就近加油站的供油协议作为保障。数据中心机房内均设有架空地板,冷通道封闭,与后端制冷系统,冷机,冷却塔和冰池形成高效冷却循环,为机房内运行的服务器提供稳定适合的环境。数据中心配有新风系统,可在天气条件适合时最大限度地降低数据中心的 PUE 。

Azure 客户可以指定存储客户数据的数据中心所在的地理区域。

区域

中国东部
中国北部

世纪互联可能会出于数据冗余考虑或其他目的而在这些区域之间传输客户数据。例如,在发生重大数据中心事故的情况下,Azure 将在中国的两个区域之间复制存储数据以增强数据的持续性。

Office 365 客户可以将他们的客户数据存储和复制在在位于中国大陆的数据中心。

世纪互联将客户数据,例如 Exchange Online 邮箱数据,同时存储在两个数据中心,以应对重大的数据中心事件。

世纪互联的供应商(包括提供 Azure、Office 365 和 Power BI 技术以使服务得以运行的微软)并不具有客户数据的逻辑或物理访问权限。在极少数情况下,仅当必须对客户支持事件进行故障排除或解决技术问题时,才会授予供应商对包含客户数据的系统的访问权限。并且仅在解决问题所需的时间期限内授予此类访问权限。在此过程中此类授权访问会被密切监控,并在问题解决后终止访问权限。

世纪互联不会控制或限制客户或其最终用户访问客户数据的地理位置。